The strength of a person.

This past weekend we went to a fundraiser; for Cystic Fibrosis. Last July, Blaynes cousin, gave birth to a beautiful baby boy. His name is Connor, and he has CF. This year they hosted the 1st annual Sole Mates Silent Auction and Dessert Night. It was a relatively small event where there were countless desserts – I’m glad I’m not going to the doctor to get weighed this week – and some wonderful silent auction items. I, of course, went in knowing exactly what I wanted, and my husband being the gentleman that is he went in knowing “what my baby wants my baby gets.” He’s a smart man, slightly afraid of my pregnancy hormones I think but hey, I’ll take what I can get. With the combined attitudes, I went home with what I wanted, and a little something extra.

12938198_10153908912661001_2493548732780434036_n

Cute right? These pants fit from size 6m – 3t! Which means technically I could fit Hunters stubby legs into them. I will keep them safely tucked away for babies stubby legs – I’m serious, they get it from their father. You can buy your own pair at Babbaloo Beans.

They did raise $2000 at the event, which is fantastic, this is in addition to the fundraising they are doing individually for the CF Edmonton Walk.

Cystic Fibrosis is scary,  it is the most common fatal genetic disease affecting Canadian children and young adults. There is no cure. Today, almost 60% of Canadians with CF live to see adulthood. 60%. Which means 40% don’t. They had a 25% chance that their child would have it, better odds than 40%. Not that 60% isn’t great, but… I can’t even think about it. They live with this everyday. How? I ask myself that every time I think about it.

I started writing this evening planning on going a completely different direction. I can’t do it; because, well 60%.

Mad Mommy

One thought on “The strength of a person.

Leave a Reply

