a noggin full of nonsense.

Flashback 3 years: I walk outside to see Levi wearing a mixing bowl on his head. When I questioned him as to why, his answer? “I wanted to ride my bike and couldn’t find my helmet.” Even at 3 years old he knew, no helmet, no bike.

The rule still applies at our house, always has, always will. Bike, scooters, skateboards, quads, basically anything that they sit or stand on with wheels. I don’t care if you are moving 10 blocks or 10 feet. Your helmet is on your head.

Sadly this doesn’t seem to be the norm anymore. Nearly every day in the summer I see kids riding with no helmet. I’m not talking about older kids and teenagers. No, I am talking about kids Levi and Hunters ages, 5 and 3. This isn’t the kids decision, that is clearly the parents. I just don’t understand it. In Alberta it is the LAW, at least on a bike.

Last summer was a constant battle at my parents house, she had picked up some used bikes for the boys to use at their house. Great. Except she didn’t get them helmets. – When I was growing up I wouldn’t have dared to not wear a helmet. If the fall didn’t kill me my parents certainly would have.- Everyday the kids would be on them, and every day I was the bad guy telling them no they don’t have helmets on. I don’t care,  I have to make my point the same rules apply everywhere not just at home. This year they finally have helmets, Hunters is at least a size to big, which is another battle I have been tackling while there. Luckily this year they are much more focused on the swings instead of their bikes.

ATV helmets there isn’t even a little bit of a grey area. I worked at the Polaris dealership until recently. The amount of kids that are allowed to ride without a helmet BLOWS MY MIND! My kids are not allowed to even ride their battery powered quads without a helmet. If you let them ride one without a helmet they will want to ride them all. It just is easier for them to wear it always. This has never been an argument with our kids, it has just always been the case. When riding Blayne and I always wear our helmets, monkey see monkey do right? However, Hunter and Levi learned really fast last year why they always where a helmet. Blayne was loading the side-by-side on the trailer going about 2 km/h and hit a rock. The result?
11822866_10152888961281017_8393744845699772827_n

Stitches and a Harry Potter scar on his forehead. Imagine if he had been going regular riding speed. Levi now preaches helmet safety, because he doesn’t want to crack his head open like his daddy.

I’m not trying to come across preachy. To me it is just common sense.

No Helmet, No Ride.

If you’re looking for more bike safety you can find it here or here. For more on ATV safety check out here or here. Or you know, use your head.

Mad Mommy

 

 

 

Thanks to Dare to Share for letting me link up!

The Pramshed

4 thoughts on “a noggin full of nonsense.

  1. weve had a constant helmet batlle with our boy – age 3. he had a new bike for his birthday and we did the same – no helmet, no ride. and it has worked. he howled and cried and kicked up a stink but he comes to us now saying he wants his helmet, if he wants to ride 🙂 #fortheloveofblog

    Like

    1. Thanks for the comment! I am would rather battle a 3 year old than a 13 year old. Make the rules know now and when they are older you don’t have to fight as much. I hope anyways! #fortheloveofblog

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Definitely wear a helmet, the consequences of not wearing one are far worse than being embarrassed for wearing one. I remember my parents really struggling with me to wear a helmet when I was younger. It’s so important. Thanks for sharing your post with us at #fortheloveofBLOG. Claire x

    Like

    1. Thanks for the comment! I agree completely, far to often you hear about the worst case scenario. It hurts my heart to see kids with no helmet, even more when they are young and impressionable, it’s so easy to get them to wear one.#fortheloveofBLOG

      Like

Leave a Reply

