The baby cold.

Well, it happened, sooner than I would have hoped but it happened none the less. HD had his first cold. It was inevitable, school started which mean both Levi and Hunter were carriers of all the germs that come associated with school and personal hygiene isn’t something that a 6 and almost 4-year-old excel at. I don’t mean they aren’t clean, but covering their mouths instead of sneezing into a babies face is definitely something we need to work at. So, at 6 weeks old, HD got his first cold. Thankfully it was very mild.

Because it was so mild we didn’t feel a trip to the doctors was necessary. If he had been in distress or running even a mild fever I would NOT have hesitated, and we would have headed to the ER at the very first sign. As it was, he only had nasal congestion so we were able to manage it at home.

sick-hd

It is terrible seeing your little ones sick as it is, when they aren’t to talk and tell you what is wrong it seems so much worse. But we always seem to make it through. Here’s how we muddled through.

  • Steam: Turn the shower on full heat, close the curtain and just go sit in the bathroom. This really helped loosen up the mucus and helped him to breathe a little easier. After the first time, I made sure to strip him a diaper and put clothes on right afterwards because the steam made his clothes damp and he was freezing afterwards. Putting warm dry clothes on after coming out of the bathroom really helped. This also turned out to be a perfect time for me to shower while HD sat in his baby chair in the bathroom.
  • Nasal Aspirator: It’s a job nobody likes, especially the baby but they help. I used it constantly but it is most effective following that steam. I’ve only ever used the one with the ball at the end. It works. I am told there are better ones out there but I haven’t tried them. Oddly enough I never used one with Hunter. Ever.
  • Eucalyptus wax melts: I wrote about this one before but it still applies, these are my go to when anyone in my house is sick.
  • Co-sleeping: I am usually 100% against this, I fail terribly at not doing it though. However, when my babies are sick they often sleep with us. HD is no different, he slept on my arm which kept him at an angle that allowed him to breathe just a little easier.
  • Cuddles: The only thing that truly comforted our sick baby, or even the older two when they are sick, is cuddles. There is nothing like a mommy or a daddy cuddle to make you feel better. Hell, I love cuddles when I am not feeling good I just get them from my husband now instead.

Like I said this was a super mild cold, it only lasted a couple of days and its was nearly 100% nasal congestion. We made it through with only minor discomfort and we were lucky it didn’t involve a trip to the doctor. What things to you suggest helping make you baby more comfortable when they’re sick?

 

mad-mommy

 

This post does not provide medical advice, it is simply what worked for my family. Always consult a doctor. The information, including but not limited to, text, graphics, images and other material contained on this website are for informational purposes only.
Petite Pudding
Pink Pear Bear
Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday

29 thoughts on “The baby cold.

  1. Colds are the worst. I also use a humidifier for when the cold turns chesty. Some great advice here. I always use steam when my babies get bad colds. My youngest is starting to get a bit snotty so we’ll be down that road again soon and my eldest seems to constantly have colds at the moment. I blame the weather. #eatsleepblogrt

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My little one had such a bad cold at 2 months that he had to spend 5 days at the hospital. When we were there they told us the Nose Frieda was able to get the closest to hospital grade suction than any other aspirator on the market.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am thankful none of my boys have needed a hospital stay, Hunter did have pneumonia at 2 months and we nearly had to go then. It must have been terrifying.
      I have heard of the Nose Frieda but I haven’t tried it yet.

      Like

  3. Max always has a little pillow under his neck and head at night to keep him raised and on a better position. Thankfully we haven’t had any illnesses yet (3 months post birth) but mummy and big sister and full of cold at the mo so if he’s going to get it it’ll be now 😦 #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Awww, I’m so sorry to read that your little one was sick! I’m sure it’s so much tougher with school-age children in the house, but I’m happy to hear that you’ve gotten through. Steam is definitely one of our go-tos for congestion-SO helpful!! Cuddles are, for sure, the best medicine of them all though. Thanks so much for sharing! ❤ #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oooh I’ve never tried Eucalyptus Wax Melts – might have to try and find some. Find the nasal aspirator a dirty pleasure… it’s so gross and yet SO satisfying to get that gunk out! Glad to hear you made it through! #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s so horrible when they are ill isn’t it! Some great tips here. I’ve always found using eucalyptus drops worked great for my daughter too
    Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next Sunday

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It’s so miserable when they get ill when they’re really little. We always used to prop the cot up when our 2 were little, to help them breathe a bit more easily. And we use olbas oil too. x #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

