Dad is not a babysitter.

61127808.jpg

In the last two months, I have spent my weekends away at vendor events. I do this randomly throughout the year, but during the Christmas shopping season,  it seems to be at least one day, if not two, out of each weekend leading up to Christmas. This is due entirely to my direct sales business that I have, and give me a much-needed break. During these events I am of course always asked who has the kids. More often than not it seems to be my mom, due to scheduling – thanks, mom! – However, when they are at home with their dad I have noticed a disturbing trend

Person: “who has the kids?”

Me: “They are at home with their dad.”

Person: “oh, dad gets to babysit while you go out.”

Me: …

This bothers me, and while the implication that I am out for fun is bothersome enough; what really gets to me is that dad is babysitting.

I am sorry. He is their father. At no point in their life will he be babysitting them. He is being their parent.

Definition of babysit

babysitting  to care for children usually during a short absence of the parents;  to give care <babysit for a neighbour’s pets>

IN THE ABSENCE OF THE PARENTS. Therefore, a parent cannot babysit their own children. This is one of those awful double standards that exists. At no point would someone say, or imply, that I, their mother is babysitting my children. That is simply my job as a mother. I am their caregiver, so why is it that dad isn’t viewed the same way. Especially in this day and age when there are so many stays

at home dads, then they are the primary caregivers. Are they still “babysitters” in the eyes of these people?

Moms are moms, dads are dads, and when they are caring for their own children they aren’t babysitting. Am I the only one who feels this way? Let me know in the comments!

mad-mommy

 

DIY Daddy Blog
A Cornish Mum
Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday

15 thoughts on “Dad is not a babysitter.

  1. Yep, totally relate to this! Dad is dad end of, a babysitter is someone I pay on the rare exception when we both get to go out! Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next Sunday x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

