Fat Mommy gets fit: Water

My first order of business in the journey was to quit drinking Coke! I have lived in this delusional world where I was able to convince myself that if I only drank one can a day that wasn’t so bad. Especially in comparison so other people in my household that drink 3-5. See, what did I tell you? Delusional. Just because I wasn’t drinking as much as others, doesn’t mean I was doing the right thing. You can find thousands of articles and blogs telling you why you shouldn’t drink it. It wrecks your teeth, it puts you ar risk for a number of serious diseases, the stuff literally can eat through metal. But, I was able to happily ignore all of that to live in my happy world.

So, I quit drinking it. Okay, I made that sound so much easier than it actually was. The only way I was able to do it was to stop buying it. Out of sight out of mind. As the same time, I also got a kidney infection and I was able to substitute it with cranberry juice until that passed. But, alas, despite only purchasing “so sugar added” juices, fruit juice is still loaded with a tonne of natural sugar and is just empty calories that nobody really needs.
Bring on the water! There are so many benefits to drinking water.

  • Prevent dehydration
  • Promote healthy organ function
  • Keep your muscles energised
  • To keep your skin looking good.
  • probably a million other reasons…

So really there is no reason to not drink it.

For years and years and years I have heard that a person needs to drink 8-8oz glasses of water or 2 Litres. So that’s what I did, I figured out how much my cup held and then I figured out how many of them I needed to drink to reach that goal. Easy Peasy! Until a few days in a friend told me that is totally out of date, and you actually need to drink much more than that in a day. Half your body weight (in pounds to oz) to be more accurate. So if you weigh 200 lbs you need drink 100 oz od water. Not the commonly heard 64 oz. – Apparently, this is all fields, not just water but when you’re trying to cut out the calories water is clearly (no pun intended) the best option. – I, weighing in much higher than I should need to drink about 115 oz, nearly double what I thought.

So that is my goal. Just over 3.5 Litres. Doable. I can probably manage this.


I can absolutely do this! By keeping a glass or water bottle full of water next to me always, I now drink an average of 4L of water a day. That and making the decision to actually drink the amount of water I need. It is harder when  I drink other things during the day but I still manage to get it done. I do seem to spend an absurd amount of time in the bathroom these days though.

What are some of your tips and tricks to drink more water?

mad-mommy

 

 

 

Hot Pink WellingtonsStayClassyMama BadgeLPDiary of an imperfect mumTwin Mummy and Daddy

 

11 thoughts on “Fat Mommy gets fit: Water

  1. Great work on the water. I really believe it’s a habit like brushing your teeth that you eventually get into and it just becomes the norm. I have a litre Camleback bottle and I know I need to have two of those so I sip all day and carry it with me. Good luck! #thatfridaylinkup

    Like

  2. When I worked in an office and had my bottle on my desk I was so good at drinking lots of water. Now I’m not drinking nearly enough compared to all the tea and coffee I have instead. I need to get back on it. Well done for quitting the coke. #stayclassymama

    Like

  3. Not sure I could quit coke although I never tried well done Thanks for linking to the #THAT FRIDAY LINKY come back next week please

    Like

  4. I’m definitely guilty of not drinking enough water! I did the same a few years ago and cut out coke and squash and once I got used to it I didn’t miss them at all. But gradually over the years they’ve crept back in, my my water intake has dropped alongside it. I’ve been much better lately as I’m pregnant and trying to avoid the caffeine – and perhaps unsurprisingly it’s water that I always fancy! Thanks for joining us at #SharingtheBlogLove

    Like

  5. I don’t drink coke but do drink lots of sugary tea! I need to start drinking water too, my skin is desperately needing it. As so many people have said its habit and I need to get into. I think weirdly its because I never like the taste. I need to get into the routine to teach my son good habits. Thank you for linking to #stayclassymama xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

