Fat mommy gets fit: throwing away the scale.

I was so confident. I had drunk nothing but water for 6 weeks, I had done an exercise of some sort every single day, and I have tried to control my portions at meal times. I was going to step on that scale and see a big difference. At least 5 pounds. I was ready. I was wrong, I had actually gained 2 pounds.Luckily my grandmother was there to give me a tin of cookies to make me feel better (I never did eat those.)

It wasn’t until my husband, so kindly, reminded me that muscle weighs more than fat. Even though I was losing fat, I was gaining muscle,  specifically in my legs (thank you squats). That’s the moment I decided that I was doing away with the scale. It was only going to disappoint me. I knew I was losing weight, my clothes were a bit looser, and my profile had changed a little when I looked in the mirror. Little changes but still significant to me. But the scale did not reflect those changes. In the disappointment, I experienced it was harder and harder to stay on track with my changes.

I am going to throw away the scale (well not literally, because I don’t actually own one and I just use my uncles when I visit him) and buy myself a measuring tape. I am going to continue with my small and manageable changes so that I don’t fall off the wagon, and I am going to focus on what the tape and my clothes tell me, and not my scale.


So, while I have only lost 3.1 lbs in two months, I have lost the weight where it counts. I may have a long way to go, but already I feel better about myself and at the end of the day I will mark that in the win column.

mad-mommy

 

My Random MusingsKeep Calm and Carry On Linking SundayPink Pear Bear

20 thoughts on “Fat mommy gets fit: throwing away the scale.

  1. Well done you, and I agree fully the scales are just evil and I go of how I feel in my clothes and how I look as opposed to my actual weight. You know when you feel good and when you don’t. Keep up the good work. #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is definitely a win! I am doing the same kind of thing, just enjoying getting fit and smile when I see a change!
    Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next time

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A measuring tape is definitely the way to go if you’re plenty of exercise. Good luck 🙂
    Thanks for linking up to #AnythingGoes 🙂
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I totally hear you on this!!! I had about 5 stone to lose, and I’ve managed to lose 2 of it, but the scales have stubbornly remained the same for the last 2 months, despite existing on lean meat and raw vegetables, and exercising until I’m on the brink of collapse!! So like you, I’m getting rid of the scales, and I’m toning down the exercise too. Good luck, let us know how you get on!
    Thanks for sharing with #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Weight is such a tricky, tricky thing. I think it’s great that you’re ditching the scale, I did the same thing this time around and I’m a lot happier than I was. I hope it goes well for you and you continue to see the changes the scale just doesn’t reflect. All the best!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

